Do you ever wake up with a song in your head that just won’t leave? I had this experience the other night. In fact I woke several times in the night with the same song playing in my mind. The song was Hillsong’s ‘With Everything,’ which was written by Joel Houston and first appeared on the This is Our God album in 2008.

When something like this happens I have to wonder if God is trying to get my attention, or alert me to something in particular. Now you might prefer Charles Wesley or other hymn writers to Hillsong but bear with me. The first two verses of With Everything are words I/we could well do with praying daily. They are words of surrender, a plea for God to take hold of us and make us into the people He intended us to be:

Open our eyes
To see the things that make Your heart cry
To be the church that You would desire
Your light to be seen

Break down our pride
And all the walls we’ve built up inside
Our earthly crowns and all our desires
We lay at Your feet

Sometimes our pride needs dealing with. Do you remember Peter, the disciple who was always getting it wrong, being challenged by Jesus on the beach? Three times Jesus asked Peter if he loved Him. How many times has Jesus asked that question of us because of the way we have behaved towards Him, or towards others?

Although With Everything transitions into a song of praise, in my opinion the song remains one of surrender. Perhaps God is reminding me through this song that if I fail to surrender everything to Him, and if I fail to worship Him in my life as well as in my words, then He is going to struggle to use me. I think that is what Peter learnt on the beach. Why? Well because Peter’s response (along with that of the other disciples) was one of obedience to Jesus.

“Do not leave Jerusalem until the Father sends you the gift He promised, as I told you before. John baptized with water, but in just a few days you will be baptised with the Holy Spirit.” (Acts 1:4b-5 NLT)

Peter was unrecognizable after being baptised in the Holy Spirit, although it appears that he still made mistakes. Perhaps the mistakes happened on the days that Peter was so busy that He forgot to spend time alone with God? Or did Peter worship and serve God with everything?

Let hope rise
And darkness tremble
In Your holy light
That every eye will see
Jesus our God
Great and mighty to be praised

God of all days
Glorious in all of Your ways
Oh the majesty, the wonder and grace
In the light of Your Name

With everything
With everything
We will shout for Your glory
With everything
With everything
We will shout forth Your praise

Our hearts they cry
Be glorified
Be lifted high above all names
For You our King
With everything
We will shout forth Your praise

(With Everything lyrics © Capitol Christian Music Group)

