Tags

,

It is Easter and the Welford family are back in Skegness for Spring Harvest. We hope for a recharging of spiritual batteries when we come to Spring Harvest, but we are also blessed by being with other members of our family, and by being close to the sea.IMG_5544
I have already managed one walk on the beach. The sand is very soft here making walking more difficult. Perhaps I should have taken my shoes off? I persevered despite the soft sand, and made it to the water’s edge where the flow of water through the ripples in the sand and back to the sea caught my attention causing my thoughts to wander (not difficult!).IMG_5554
I thought about the capacity of the ocean to absorb every drop of water from every river and stream. The geographer in me reflected on the hydrologic cycle and how the ocean supplies the clouds through evaporation, equipping the clouds to pour out rain on the land, with the rain ending up in rivers that continually return the water they carry to the sea.IMG_5556
And then I thought about the bucket loads of love that God pours out for all of us in a stream that never stops flowing and never runs out. I remembered how undeserving and unworthy I am of that love, and the price that Jesus paid for me because of God’s love. Then tears of gratitude began to flow as I worshipped quietly as the waves gently rolled up onto the beach, oblivious to everything else.

On the last day, the climax of the festival, Jesus stood and shouted to the crowds, “Anyone who is thirsty may come to me! Anyone who believes in me may come and drink! For the Scriptures declare, ‘Rivers of living water will flow from his heart.” (When he said “living water,” he was speaking of the Spirit, who would be given to everyone believing in him. But the Spirit had not yet been given, because Jesus had not yet entered into his glory.) John 7:37-39 NLT

 

