Tags

I can’t tell you how I felt when the island of Guernsey appeared out of the mist on the starboard bow of the Condor Liberation yesterday afternoon. The emotions began to well up in me as we approached Guernsey, finally entering St Peter Port harbour, and then driving off the boat onto those so familiar roads. Roads I haven’t seen for eight long years.

IMG_6206

Sark on the port bow, Herm and Guernsey to Starboard

I grew up in Guernsey. Although I wasn’t born on the island, it holds my earliest memories, and so many of my most wonderful memories of childhood and school. Added to those childhood memories are the memories from the numerous subsequent family holidays where our children have grown to love the small and beautiful island I call home.

IMG_6208

Entering harbour. A misty greeting!

While Guernsey is stunningly beautiful, and part of me belongs here, Guernsey is no more my home than this tiny planet we call Earth is my home. I live here, and God has provided me with a house and many home comforts for which I am greatly appreciative, but this world is not my home, and I am not to get comfortable here. God has promised better. A new Heaven and a new Earth. This present Earth and the life we humans know will be as nothing compared to what is to come for those who love God and seek to live a life that honours Him.

IMG_6220

Cobo – the beach where I spent so much time as a child. Beautiful regardless of the wind and spray and high tide. Even the gulls stop and ponder the beauty of this place!

Are you an alien and stranger here; a person in transit? Have you become too comfortable with the world you know and the life you understand, or are you seeking more than this? Where is your home? Where will you spend eternity?

Dear friends, I warn you as ‘temporary residents and foreigners’ to keep away from worldly desires that wage war against your very souls. Be careful to live properly among your unbelieving neighbours. Then even if they accuse you of doing wrong, they will see your honourable behaviour, and they will give honour to God when he judges the world. (1 Peter 2:11-12 NLT)

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the old heaven and the old earth had disappeared. And the sea was also gone. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.

I heard a loud shout from the throne, saying, “Look, God’s home is now among his people! He will live with them, and they will be his people. God himself will be with them. He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.”

And the one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making everything new!” And then he said to me, “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true.” And he also said, “It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega—the Beginning and the End. To all who are thirsty I will give freely from the springs of the water of life. All who are victorious will inherit all these blessings, and I will be their God, and they will be my children. (Rev 21: 1-7 NLT)

 

 

